The Filmmakers

David Abel is a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter at The Boston Globe who has covered wars, terrorism, and the environment. One of his first journalism jobs was working as a reporter 161225_104623_148in a small community in Florida that was once part of the Everglades. Abel’s work has also won an Edward R. Murrow Award, the Ernie Pyle Award from the Scripps Howard Foundation, and the Sigma Delta Chi Award for Feature Reporting. He co-directed and produced “Sacred Cod,” a film about the collapse of the iconic cod fishery in New England, which was broadcast by the Discovery Channel in the spring of 2017. He also directed and produced two films about the Boston Marathon bombings, which were broadcast to national and international audiences, on BBC World News, Discovery Life, and Pivot. Abel produced the film while serving as the Visiting Knight Chair in Journalism at the University of Miami. He is the film’s director and producer.

Andy Laub, founder and director of As It Happens Creative, has hiked more than 5,000 miles in search of compelling stories. From nature films to cultural documentaries, he’s worked as a writer, cinematographer, editor, visual effects artist, andyexpedition coordinator, and soundtrack composer for networks including the Discovery Channel, National Geographic Channel, BBC World News, and Ora.TV. He co-produced and directed “Sacred Cod” with Abel. Andy’s other films have explored the urban boom in Mongolia, the application of ancient building traditions by the Hopi tribe, and one unique runner’s return to the Boston Marathon after the bombings. His film, “As It Happens: Pacific Crest Trail,” has been viewed online by more than a half million people around the world. Laub is the editor, soundtrack composer, and producer.

Cassandra Keith, a graduate student and filmmaker at the University of Miami’s School of Communication, was the lead cinematographer. The team also included Candace Barbot, Isaac Mead-Long, Andrea Garcia Marquez, Trevor Green, Ezra Remer, Lorenzo Ponce de Leon, Zack Strunin, Alexis Kesselman, Jeanette Hamilton, Greta West, Devyn Keith, Margaret Cardillo, and Nicholas Punales.